Basic Surgical Skills Courses

Event Description

Please find information below regarding the BSS courses offered by universities nationally.

Please Contact either Melissa Mohamed (UCT) 

Contact details follow below BSSC courses in 2018.
GENERAL ENQUIRIES:

MELISSA MOHAMED(UCT)    melissa.mohamed@uct.ac.za 021 406 6231

 

BASIC SURGICAL SKILLS COURSES 2018 (UPDATED –August 2018)

 

BASIC SURGICAL SKILLS COURSES 2018                       

MONTH DATE/S PLACE COMMENTS
JANUARY 2018
 
FEBRUARY 2018 WITS ADVANCED LAPAROSCOPIC SUTURING Prof D Bizos
  ERBY TRAINING Ms Sioban Hood J&J
  14 – 16 WITS Prof D Bizos
  28 Feb – 2 Mar DURBAN Prof B Singh
  21 – 23 PORT ELIZABETH Dr G Manoharan
  21 – 23 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
  21 – 23 BLOEMFONTEIN Dr E Le Grange
 
MARCH 2018 7 – 9 MEDUNSA Mrs Mathilda Howard
  6 – 8 CAPE TOWN Prof P Goldberg
  13 – 16 STELLENBOSCH Mrs Raleah De Klerk

Dr tim Forgan

  14 – 16 WITS Prof Bizos
  18 – 20 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
  WINDHOEK Prof P Goldberg
  WITS LAP/CHOLE SUTURING Prof Bizos
  HUMAN RIGHTS DAY FRIDAY 21 MARCH
 
APRIL 2018 30 GOOD FRIDAY
  2 FAMILY DAY
  OSHAKATI Dr Fransis Quaysen
  4 – 6 POLOKWANE Dr Bhuiyan
  18 – 20 PIETERMARITZBURG Dr V Govindasamy
  18 – 20 EAST LONDON Dr Adam McCausland
  18 – 20 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
  27 FREEDOM DAY
 
 
MAY 2018 THURSDAY 1 MAY WORKERS DAY
  9 – 11 WITS Prof Bizos
  9 – 11 DURBAN Prof B Singh
  23 – 25 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
  23 – 25 BLOEMFONTEIN Dr E Le Grange
  22 – 24 STELLENBOSCH Mrs Raleah De Klerk

Dr Tim Forgan

 
JUNE 2018
  YOUTH DAY
  REGISTRAR SYMPOSIUM
SRS
20 – 22 MEDUNSA Mrs Mathilda Howard
27 – 29 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
19 – 21 CAPE TOWN Prof P Goldberg
Part I & Primary Exams Written
WITS LAP/CHOLE SUTURING Prof Bizos
JULY 2018
  GEORGE Dr Hugo Stark
  Written Diploma Exams
  Intermediate Exams
  Written Part II Final Exams
 

 

AUGUST 2018 ASSA/SAGES
  9 WOMANSDAY
  WITS LAP/CHOLE SUTURING Prof Bizos
  15 – 17 MEDUNSA Mrs Mathilda Howard
  22 – 24 PORT ELIZABETH Dr G Manoharan
  22 – 24 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
  22 – 24 DURBAN Prof B Singh
 
  FCS
 
SEPTEMBER 2018 5 – 7 WITS Prof D Bizos
  12 – 14 PIETERMARITZBURG Dr V Govindasamy
  12 0 14 EAST LONDON Dr Adam McCausland
  HERITAGE DAY
  26 – 28 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
  18 – 20 CAPE TOWN Prof P Goldberg
  25 – 27 STELLENBOSCH Mrs Raleah de Klerk

Dr Tim Forgan

  Diplomas,
  Intermediates,
 
OCTOBER 2018
  23 – 25 STELLENBOSCH Dr Charl Cooper
  31 Oct – 2 Nov WITS Prof D Bizos
  24 – 26 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
 
 
NOVEMBER 2018 7 – 9 BLOEMFONTEIN Dr E Le Grange
  14 – 16 MEDUNSA Mrs Mathilda Howard
  TOTMAS MEDUNSA  NOVEMBER
  21 – 23 STEVE BIKO Mrs Marie Cilliers
 
 
DECEMBER 2018 16 DEC – DAY OF RECONCILIATION

 

 

 

CONTACT  NUMBERS / EMAIL ADDRESSES

 

GENERAL INQUIRIES – BSS

Sikhu Khumalo Assistant 011-717-77984 Sikhulile.khumalo@wits.ac.za

 

JOHNSON & JOHNSON MEDICAL      

Sioban Hood Prof Ed Manager

Reg:  FG 08 XZ GP

082 – 416 3777 shood3@its.jnj.com
Robyn Mbonani Secretary 011 – 265 1186 rmbonani@its.jnj.com
Johannes Tlakula Skynet 011 – 214 4942 johnsoninh@skynet.co.za
Chamberlain-Tucker, Helen hchambe@ITS.JNJ.com
Zach Sejake Polokwane 073-013-3043 zsejake@its.jnj.comx
Njadi Johannesburg 082-473-7737 nkgobe@its.jnj.com

 

KARL STORZ – Laparoscopy towers

Malika Abrahamse Marketing Assistant 071 – 891 2212 m.abrahamse@karlstorz.co.za

 

ERBE – Diathermy machines

Paul Coetzee Sales Manager 083 – 261 5995 Paul.coetzee@erbe-lebanon.com

 

 

 

 

BLOEMFONTEIN  

Esme le Grange HOD 082 – 550 8406

051 – 405 3539

legransm@ufs.ac.za

 

Ms Joanna H Fourie (051) 405-3399 fouriejh@ufs.ac.za

 

CAPE TOWN

Prof Paul Goldberg HOD 071 – 606 9858 paul.goldberg@uct.ac.za
Melissa Mohamed Secretary 021-406 6231 melissa.mohamed@uct.ac.za

 

DURBAN

Prof Bugsy Singh HOD 082-455 4416

031-260 4294

singhb3@ukzn.ac.za
Pat Narayanasamy Secretary 031-260 4271 narayanasamyp@ukzn.ac.za

 

Bryteeny Ramsamy

 

031 260 4219

Fax: 031 260 4389

 

moodleyb2@ukzn.ac.za

 

 

EAST LONDON

Dr Adam McCausland HOD 082-314-0933 admacgm@gmail.com
Beryl Morgan Secretary 043-709 2273 Beryl.Morgan@impilo.ecprov.gov.za

 

GEORGE

Dr Hugo Stark 076-916 9172 hugostark@gmail.com
Ms Tanya Gertze 044-802 4390 tgerze@pgwc.gov.za
Louise Jenkins Ljenkins@pgwc.gov.za

 

MEDUNSA

Dr A Mokhtari Surgeon 0827813584 surgiderm@wol.co.za
Mathilda Howard Secretary 012-521 4153 mathilda.howard@smu.ac.za

 

NAMIBIA

Dr Fransis Quayson Consultant
Rachel Hangula BSS Assistant +264 812 992 404 rhangula@unam.na

 

PIETERMARITZBURG

Dr Victor Govindasamy HOD 033-897 3381 Vishendran.govindasamy@kznhealth.gov.za
Nirusha Maharaj Secretary 033-897 3379 nirusha.maharaj@kznhealth.gov.za

 

Dr Ashish Dasrath

 

Consultant 082 372 8896 ashdasrath@gmail.com

 

 

POLOKWANE

Dr MMZU Bhuiyan HOD 083-313 8178
Rendani Mavungu Secretary 082-335 7574

015-287 5516

rendanimavhungu@ymail.com

 

 

 

 

PORT ELIZABETH

Dr G Manoharan HOD 083-657 2553 grmanoharan@webmail.co.za
Candice Williams Secretary 041-405 2354 Candice.williams@echealth.gov.za

 

PRETORIA

Marie Cilliers 012-354-1411 Marie.cilliers@up.ac.za
Johanna Biko BSS Assistant

 

RED CROSS

Prof Alp Numanoglu Head of paediatric surgery alp.numanoglu@uct.ac.za

 

STELLENBOSCH

Dr Tim Forgan Consultant/Specialist timforgan@gmail.com
Mrs Raleah de Klerk Admin Officer 021-938 9273 raleah@sun.ac.za
Dr Ferdinand Booysens NC 073 465 6109

053-802 2147

fbooyens@ncpg.gov.za
Dr Tim Forgan timforgan@gmail.com

 

WITS

Prof Damon Bizos HOD 083-601 8636 Damon.bizos@wits.ac.za
Mrs Rina Genade Secretary 011-717-2580 johanna.genade@wits.ac.za
Jackson Mokgobu Lab Assistant 076-427 9888 tlou.mokgobu@wits.ac.za

 

STEVE BIKO

Sioban Hood

 

Prof Ed Manager 082 – 416 3777 shood3@its.jnj.com
Lizette Du Preez

 

ldupreez@its.jnj.com

 

 

 

All Programme During 2017 Ends November